Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

10:09 a.m. - 2005-01-06
Sore Losers...or Sore Winners?
I wasn't going to go off about politics again.

But with the controversy surrounding today's vote, I can't help it.

I am very, very tired of liberal being a bad word. It's a description of a set of political beliefs, just like "conservative." It does not translate to a lack of morals, a lack of ethics, whining, bitching, moaning, complaining, or stupidity.

To all the conservatives who are accusing the liberals of being "sore losers"�you are being "sore winners." Every time anyone calls the current administration on the carpet, they are accused of being un-American, of being whiners, of being just some stupid immoral piece of crap�and of being "divisive."

Like it or not, kids, there are TWO major political parties, not one. Your candidate didn't win the election by some huge margin. And there ARE some questions about the accuracy and integrity of the balloting process.

Think about it. Wouldn't it be better if you could gloat without even a shadow of a doubt? Wouldn't it be nice if no one could insinuate with even a shred of truth that your boy has secured the election through foul means?

You are all entitled to your opinion. You may even be right. But what if you're not? Just as you have the freedom of speech to state that you are sure everything in this election was run smoothly, the opposition has the freedom of speech to question it.

The divisiveness you accuse liberals of is coming from your own party. Can we not stop the name-calling? I don't think every Republican is a knee-jerk, Bible-thumping moron�just as I don�t think every Democrat is perfect or right. However, I do think that there's been enough of the labeling and accusations. We should all be seeking the truth, we should all be seeking justice, and we should all be big enough to admit it if we're wrong.

I think that election reform needs to happen regardless of which party is in power. I don't think that there should be any question about the accuracy of the election results. If your party is truly as ethical and moral as you're asserting, and if you truly have faith that you are in the right, an investigation should be no big deal. Methinks you protest too much.

And speaking of changing the rules to benefit yourselves? Ya'll don't want anyone mentioning Tom DeLay, do you? If he was a Democrat, his ass would be hung from the highest tree�there would be no talk of changing Congressional laws so he could stick around until they actually convict him.

Hypocrisy. Lying. Fraud. To me, these things are not ethical. But then, I'm just a stupid whiny liberal. What do I know? My opinion is invalid, my party is a sore loser, and I might as well just sit down, shut up, and forget I ever had any civil liberties.

I don't fucking think so.

I realize that some of my buddies won't agree. But you know, that's why it's cool to live here...we don't all have to have the same opinion. We don't all have to get along. It's what should keep the system honest. Majority rule...but minority rights.

I believe everyone who reads is intelligent and has their own reasons for their opinions. It should be an exercise in intellectual debate...not a reason to hate someone. So exercise your freedom of speech, and comment away. As Anthony Hopkins said in the movie Shadowlands: "Fight me, I can take it."

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!