Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

9:28 a.m. - 2005-01-13
Early in the Morning...Massa Got Me Workin'
This is Day 2 of my new and improved exercise plan. I have dragged my ass out of bed before sunrise (that is, at 5:10 a.m.) and been at the gym when it opened at 5:30. I have done an hour of cardio. Then I have come home, ingested much coffee, and chain smoked for 30 minutes until I had to get ready for work. Because you should practice healthy habits in all you do.

Whatever.

I figure that the damage done by smoking and drinking too much coffee will be offset by the time spent at the gym. At least that's what I'm telling myself this week, so please try not to burst my little happiness bubble, mmkay?


For the most part, I like my job. However, I really wonder how some of the people I work with can survive on the planet with that few brain cells. Two days ago, we have a meeting, right? Our client wants us to change our billing descriptions again. This is really not remotely complex. We have a set of "mandatory descriptions." You find the part that tells what your job is, and type the appropriate phrase. This still manages to confuse some of my co-workers. Clearly, they cannot determine (a) what their job is and (b) how to fill in the "blanks" (i.e., client name). They also do not know what the (s) at the end of a word signifies. Some of our cases have multiple plaintiffs. We bill all the work for that case as one entry. Therefore, sometimes it's "order records from additional provider re: Jane Doe" and sometimes it's "order records from additional providers re: Jane Doe and John Doe". The description on our guide sheet says "order records from additional provider(s) re: plaintiff(s)." At our meeting, someone actually asked "so when it's more than one provider, do we keep the 's' in parentheses?"

As if that were not enough, someone actually E-MAILED OUR BOSS asking basically the same question�and our boss had to ANSWER THE QUESTION:


Hopefully, this email will clear up the mystery of the "(s)".

"(s)" means that you may or may not have to add an "s" to make it plural. When you enter your time, if you have done any task for multiplies, you will put, e.g., "providers", not "provider(s)". All you do in that case (if it's suppose to be plural) is to delete the parentheses and leave the "s". This same holds true on any word where there is an "(s)".

If you have any questions, see me. Thanks.

How did these people graduate elementary school? Seriously.


Finally, I will offer my commentary on the alleged finale of "The Biggest Loser". See, they invited all the contestants who got the boot back for a final weigh-in for a consolation prize of $100,000. And that's next week. So I don't have to suffer withdrawal pangs yet�yay!

As for Ryan winning, I was expecting it, but it really pissed me off. He was such a jackass. And the thinner he got, the more of a prick he became. Yes, he looks really good, and his weight loss is impressive. But it just irritates me that once again, manipulative asshole-ness was rewarded and the nice people finished last.

And, in large part, my new resolve to be at the gym at some ridiculously, obscenely, disgustingly early hour is due to this show. Seeing the people look that good�well, let's just say it's a good motivator. I'm trying to make my little internal personal trainer bitch at me.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!