Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

11:11 p.m. - 2005-01-14
\"Friday Night I Crashed Your Party...\"
I was a complete slacker today.

I didn't go to the gym.

I did some actual work, but not as much as I should have.

I ate junk food.

I took too many smoke breaks.

However, I have attempted to atone for these sins by completing my laundry, buying shit I need at Target (you know, a new sweater, a shower head, a slipcover for the couch, and some batteries for the digital camera...important stuff), putting the laundry away, changing the cat box, and picking up some of the junk in my apartment.

I got tired just reading that paragraph.

Now I am abusing prescription drugs (from last weekend's back incident), because there's nothing like a Lortab washed down with a Jack & Diet Coke after a long hard day at the office.


I also, in tonight's laundry-meandering, went to Michael's. Keep in mind, most of my attempts at any sort of arts and crafts (including photography, I might add), resemble those of a mildly retarded second grader. My artistic talents are limited to music (kinda) and writing (such that it is).

My arts and crafts incompetence is very rare in my family. My dad does really cool woodworking, my mom sews and quilts, my brother is a mad-dog artist (so is my sister-in-law), my grandmother makes sweatshirts (or used to), and my grandfather made quilts and tumbled rocks and could build stuff. My uncle builds stuff. My cousin paints. Some other long-distant relatives were artists.

What sucks is that I can SEE this shit in my head, but I can't make it come out on paper. I know what I want it to look like, but it's like my fingers are attached to the wrong nerves, or something. I am most definitely a visual learner. I am very good at buying clothes without trying them on, buying things to match stuff in my closet, and determining what items of furniture can be crammed into what amount of space without measuring. None of these talents translate into art.

However, I am going to attempt to crochet. I was looking up directions online, and they actually seemed to be pretty clear. I've actually been taught how, but all I ever produced was a slightly misshapen doll blankie. Then, since it was totally suck-a-licious, I decided that I sucked at crochet and therefore would not devote any time to it.

This is yet another example of my complete lack of self-discipline. Practice, Loopy, practice.

I'm going to try. And if it works, I might try knitting. It looks cooler, but the instructions for that looked similar to those for eating with chopsticks, which also is not one of my life-skills. The only time I've ever managed it was when I was stoned with my vietnamese friend, and his mom had made some kick-ass lo mein shit, and he was passing it around with the chopsticks. Another vietnamese friend of his was there too, and I didn't want to look like the stupid white person who needs a fork. Plus, I totally had the munchies.


God, I love that little horizontal line thingy. It totally eliminates the need for any actual transitional phrases in your writing.


So, BFRB and I are driving home from the laundromat, and surfing the three stations in OKC that MIGHT play acceptable music. And we flip to one that's having an 80's marathon. I had to do some convincing, but she finally realized that the only other radio choices were "whiny white boys with too many guitars" and "Drop It Like It's Hot." So we're listening to A-ha's "Take on Me" and Wham's "Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go". After the song, a commercial comes on advertising "Alias." (No, I have never watched it, and I'm sure that makes me a complete weirdo, but you all knew that anyway. Moving on...) It made me think. What I remember from the time when those songs came out was watching crap like "A-Team" and "Dallas" and "Dukes of Hazzard" and MTV when they played videos. Kids and teenagers now are going to have totally different retro things when they're driving around at 30. They'll have memories of being grounded and listening to Snoop Dogg and Three Doors Down. Re-runs of "Alias" and "Lost" and "ER" will come on, and they will be all nostalgic.

I guess it's just strange to think about how much time has passed. So many things from the time I first heard those songs are so clear in my head that it really freaks me out to think that they happened 20 years ago.

Shudder.


Maybe the Jack & Lortab combo is not such a good one. Therefore, I must immediately immerse myself in today's current favorite game, Mahjong Towers II, and hope that a little tile-matching action will stop with the "dear god you're old" line of thought.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!