Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

5:14 p.m. - 2005-02-01
Viruses and Vacation Plans

I hate the people in my office.

Well, not all of them.

Just the ones who feel the need to come to work when they are hacking up a lung, suffering from the bubonic plague, or have end-stage tuberculosis.

Because now...I'm sick.

For the last two days, this is what I have accomplished:

(1) Sleep
(2) Play Mahjong Towers II
(3) Crochet
(4) Watch Norah Jones DVD
(5) Go to doctor
(6) Read message boards in re: summer vacation

The doctor, of course, was decidedly un-helpful. "Yep, it's a virus. Even though you're not really coughing, have some cough syrup with codeine, because I can't do much else." Of course, cough syrup with codeine is one of my favorite things. But the stingy fucker just gave me this little teeny bottle and no refills. You'd think it was addictive, or something.


However, BFRB and I have, despite our respective rounds with the Sinus and Ear Pain Virus of Bloody Death, decided what we're doing for our summer vacation.

We're going to the Bonnaroo Music Festival in Tennessee! The handy message boards, however, have instructed us that, to be cool, we have to call it "The Roo."

The lineup includes DMB (which is why BFRB wants to go), Jack Johnson (which is why I want to go), OAR, Modest Mouse, Widespread Panic, Joss Stone, Phish....in other words, we're going to spend three days drinking beer, smoking weed, and getting in touch with our inner hippies.

Here's hoping this does not turn out like last summer's ill-fated concert vacation. You can only get mono once, after all...


Since vacation involves music, I thought I would take this little survey featured in bigpimpinmba's diary...even though I wasn't one of the people he ASKED to take it. *sniff* I feel so rejected.

1. What are the total amount of music files on your computer?

395. I had about 750 on my old computer, but in the words of the Butthole Surfers, it "died a natural death, [it] caught a nasty virus."

2. The last CD you bought was?

Jack Johnson - "On and On".

3. What is the song you last listened to before this message?

Norah Jones - "Don't Know Why" from the concert DVD.

4. Write down five songs you often listen to, or that mean a lot to you.

I've done this a few times lately, but I'll try to pick some different ones this time....

They Might Be Giants - "Birdhouse in Your Soul"

Not to put too fine a point on it, say I'm the only bee in your bonnet...

Natalie Merchant - "Life is Sweet"

Oh, they told you life is hard, misery from the start, it's dull, it's slow, it's painful. But I tell you life is sweet, in spite of the misery...there's so much more, be grateful.

Tracy Chapman - "She's Got Her Ticket"

Why not leave, why not go away? Too much hatred, corruption and greed...they give you life and invariably they leave you with nothing.

Jack Johnson - "Flake"

Seems to me that maybe...pretty much always means no.

Counting Crows - "Round Here"

Round here we talk just like lions, but we sacrifice like lambs...

5. Who are you gonna pass this stick to (three persons and why)?

Ok. Some different people this time....and the "why" is just because I'm nosy like that.

science-girl
iamheather
singlegirl

And everyone else who wants to play. Because why write actual entries when you can do surveys instead? Hehehe.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!