Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

12:58 p.m. - 2005-12-08
Moonfaeryy guest entry
I signed on last night to update, and color me surprised, the lovely Miss Loopy has added me, moonfaeryy, as a guest writer!

The topic for the entry is, and I�m pulling this out of my memory banks, since I�m not online right now, is to pick three favorite songs, and explain why they are favorites.

Unfortunately, I have such varied musical tastes, that it would be hard to narrow down three. So what I have chosen to do, is just pick three songs, or albums for that matter, and my memory attached to them.

The first would have to be when I was 17. I was dating a guy 6 years older than me, so we had to be discreet with our relationship. There is a park in town, out of the way, the we would meet at after he got out of work. He always wanted to listen to my Peter Gabriel �So� cassette tape. (Yes, I�m old, CD�s were just becoming all the rage regarding music around that time.) We sat for hours talking and listening (and maybe a couple other things ;-)) to that tape. It is still a favorite CD of mine, and always will be.

Secondly, would be �neon Moon� by Brooks & Dunn. Again, I was dating guy, only I was 21 at the time. We had taken our first vacation together, up north to his cabin in the woods. One night we decided to go into Escanaba for dinner, and we went to a mom and pop run Italian restaurant. �Neon Moon� was playing over the speakers, and as we were being seated, the line �Got a table for two way in the back� was sung. Which is how it was for us. The hostess seated us at a table for two way in the back of the restaurant. We looked at each other, and smiled knowing that this was something special.

The third song would be �Name� by the Goo Goo Dolls. I had gone to Florida with a friend over Christmas break when I was 24. There is actually a long story that involves my brush with the Grim Reaper, and I will be posting that on my blog on Christmas day. Suffice it to say, we were leaving Florida, and the guy was being a real jerk about some things. I was in the back seat silently crying when that song came on the radio. You would think that because of the situation, I would really dislike the song, but I don�t. it was the song that introduced me to the Goo Goo Dolls. They are still one of my favorite groups to listen to.

So that about sums up my song story. I�m sure there are more floating around in the vast space known as my brain, but those three pop out to me the most! I bet you were thinking I was going to have a Dave Matthews Band song listed there? Surprisingly, the concert from Saturday night is the only firm memory of anything Dave. I�m sure there will be more in the future involving Dave and the band.

Thank you, Miss Loopy for giving me the opportunity to guest entry for you! It�s been a pleasure, and I hope I didn�t bore anyone Too Much! (Haha, nice little segue about a DMB song! I rule! ;-))

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!