Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

8:08 pm - Thursday, Dec. 08, 2005
danddteacher rocks the house!
I can hardly believe I've been asked to do this, as I've not been reading Miss Loopy's journal that long, but here goes! Ms. Dance & Drama's top 3 songs! Can I make it 4? Ok, 4 songs (because I just can't decide)...

  1. More Than Words by Extreme - I know, I know. My friend Eric always fusses at me for loving this ballad, but I just can't help it. If I had to pick one song as my very favorite, this would be it. The combination of the acoustic guitar and the simple harmony line is right up my alley. I can never hear that song too many times. It brings back memories of the 8th grade, sitting in my best friend Megan's bedroom, blaring that song, dreaming of her hunky older brother. It seems I spent almost every weekend over there that summer - back in the day when it was a big deal to stay up and watch the Arsenio Hall Show in her room, then go downstairs and join her brother and his friends to watch Headbanger's Ball. Gosh, I feel old!
  2. Come Away with Me by Norah Jones - It's no secret to anyone that knows me well that I love Norah Jones' music. She soothes me in a way nothing else can. I often let her music play in the background while my kids are working on stuff in class. But this specific song will always bring back memories of a special evening with an ex. He made a big deal about wanting to have a special dinner, so even though we were eating in (gotta love take out chinese food!) I decided to surprise him. I got all dressed up - long flowy dress, heels, pearls, the whole deal - just for him. What I didn't know was that he also wanted to surprise me, so when I came out of my room the living room was awash in candle light and Norah Jones was playing in the background. I'll always remember slow dancing with him to this song.
  3. You Won't Be Mine by Matchbox Twenty - I distinctly remember listening to this song on my headphones in the backseat a few summers ago as my parents and I drove through the mountains to visit my sister (she was working at a summer camp). It has an almost haunting melody and one particular line that I love - "I took your straight line for a curve..." I've always wanted to choreograph a piece to this, and tried with my dance ensemble a few years ago but wasn't satisfied with the outcome. Someday, when I've got older/better dancers, I'll revisit that thought.
  4. And last but not least, Let's Talk About Sex by Salt-N-Pepa - I know, I know! This one throws your for a loop after 3 ballads, but really it's the story that goes along with this song that makes it one of my favorites. It came out during the fall of my 9th grade year, just before we went on our first youth group beach trip. Somehow (I'm still not sure how) we convinced our leaders that it was ok for us to listen to the radio all weekend, so Rachael L. brought hers along. We'd heard and sung along with that song several times all weekend long, so when my friend Seth and I were sitting on the back deck that last afternoon and it came on, we thought nothing of it. Seth was hot, but I was never really attracted to him - he was dating my best friend Heather at the time. He and I always goofed around with each other, and that day was no exception. He was lying in the hammock when the song came on, and as I walked by he pulled me in on top of him. Mr. G, our leader, walked out onto the deck in time to see Seth pull me onto him just as he belted, "let's talk about sex, baby, let's talk about you and me!" Needless to say, we weren't allowed to listen to the radio the whole way home, and Seth and I were made to ride in different vehicles!

There you go! Thanks for putting up with me!

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!