Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2:56 p.m. - 2005-12-09
So far but yet so near
So, Loopy wants me to guest post. Since the VPN is down and I�m contemplating my last week on Earth, I could spend more time with my wife and daughter. I could, but I�ll do this instead.

What�s also funny is that I�ve been saying to myself as I watched everyone guest post: Sheeyat..I wasn�t asked. Then ClipChick asked me to post for her site and it was only then that I noticed the little invite thingie sitting there. Kinda like when I posted This. I�d sat around for a while wondering why the hell I hadn�t been asked. I mean, I thought Clarity loved me.

Whoa�look at me, linking to everyone and not saying anything useful. How out of character.

Hi, NoGoodDaddy here. Read this well, because, as I mentioned, I�m probably going to die in a week because my loving wife, JewelrySlut, plans to slip the anesthesiologist a fistful of sweaty change in exchange for killing me when I�m operated on.

So, 3 songs you say. Fuckshit, I have such lame musical tastes that this is not going to be easy. Basically, I don�t like a lot of music. If it�s not Buffett, James Taylor or the Barenaked Ladies, I�m not listening. So, keep that in mind as we go forward. I guess there are a few scattered songs up in brainland that I could mention, but I don�t know.

One Particular Harbour, Jimmy Buffett:
One of my favorite Buffett tunes.

And there's that one particular harbour
Sheltered from the wind
Where the children play on the shore each day
And all are safe within

Most mysterious calling harbour
So far but yet so near
I can see the day when my hair's full gray
And I finally disappear

Where is that one particular harbour? Well, it used to be, of all places, Disney World in FLA. It was a place that JewelrySlut and I were just happy and loved to visit. For us, it was our little happy place. Someplace where everything was A-OK and right in the world. Now it�s another place all together. I popped that song on last summer as we ferried from Red Hook, St Thomas to Cruz Bay, St John, USVI. That�s the harbour. It happens to help that it�s an actual harbor. But, that�s now our place. When we�re there, all is well. I can hear that song and see St John, smell the jungle, taste the beer and conch fritters and know that it�s all good.

When the Coast is Clear: Jimmy Buffett
A song about the shore side town that�s been shuttered for the winter. I like it because it reminds me of Cape May, NJ. Lookie here�another travel-related story. Wanna guess what I like to do? Anyhoo, JewelrySlut and I love Cape May. I think it�s probably the #1 thing we�re really going to miss about having moved here to NC. It was another one of those special places. Plus, we always went there in the dead of winter. The town would be deserted, the wind would be blowing, we�d freeze to death and be as happy as a married couple ever could be. The restaurants and bars would be empty and we�d just have a great time. We took one last trip down this past April. On one of my flights down here from NJ, the night was clear. We flew right down the NJ coastline right until that little finger of land jutted out into Delaware Bay. I could see Cape May below me and a wee little pang of loss hit me. But, I can listen to the song and can see everything perfectly clearly.

I don�t know what to do for song #3. Neither of the 2, I would say, are my top 2 favorite songs ever. They�re more songs that really take me somewhere or invoke a memory.

I could go a few ways for #3.

I could do Creola by Jimmy Buffett and describe a St John Sunset.
I could do Break My Stride by Matthew Wilder and describe an early morning trip to Toms River, NJ for a YMCA swim meet.
I could do I�m too Sexy by Right Said Fred and talk about high school.
I could do If I had $1,000,000 by BNL and talk about the girl who introduced me to them.

I�ll go this way�

Your Smiling Face, James Taylor
Whose face is it? Well, she�s got brown hair, pulled into a ponytail. She�s 22 and wearing a bathing suit. She�s cute, pretty, has a potty mouth and has me figured out (all at once). She�s flirting like she�s getting paid to do it. It�s working. I�m falling in love. It�s summer and we�re by a pool. She�s got me hook, line and sinker. I�m never happier than when I am with her and I feel empty when we�re apart. We fall in love and quickly realize that this is �it�. Next thing I know, we�re all dressed up nice-like and trying to dance to this utterly wonderful, but totally undanceable song in front of our friends and family. Suddenly the girl with the ponytail and the toothy grin is my wife.

Later, losers. I need to go enjoy my last week on Earth

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!