Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

10:11 pm - December 2005
Diagonally parked in a parallel universe

Oh, the wonderful times of Xmas, the snow and the gifts and the parties. I already feel very full of Xmas spirit: My money is being sucked out of me at amazingly fast rates! Wait... Isn't that what Xmas is all about? No? Ooops, my bad. Blah. Christmas is here and all. Hurrah... Not! Excuse me but this year am not excited about The 12 days of Stressmass. Maybe I'm just bitter.

*Insert 50's bowling husband fake voice* Goody, mind my manners! I forgot to introduce myself, this is Kiosh taking over Loopyland for a bit. Hello! I'm your regular bright and bubbly drama king, with a penchant for good music (especially that Icelandic, Canadian and British music), massive rants, shows involving either 4 girls in the city and the sex on it or a gang of four housewives who are desperate, rainy days and a good chai latt� with an almond biscotti. Oh, yeah, I have been blogging on DLand for around two years and I certainly think mayonnaise, Britney Spears, 80's fashion, bell peppers, 50 cent and processed Cheddar cheese are just signs of how un-evolved we are as species.

Let's talk a little bit about music. I am a passionate music lover and I really enjoy discussing songs, exchanging new material and having music on 24/7. In fact, I recently created a station at Pandora, click here to listen to it!

Hmmm, my three favourite songs? To quote Her royal Loopiness, "For someone who is like me and can't pick one favorite anything... I so cannot believe you're asking me this question. But, since I like you, I'll answer it with a top three instead of a top 50." My sentiments exactly! But I'll try to do my best...

First of all, we have Thank u by Alanis Morissette (from 1998's Supposed former infatuation junkie).

Jagged little pill was big for me but no other Alanis' album can compare to how much I like SFIJ. The main reasons why I love this song are because it makes me feel really happy and peaceful and those lyrics resonate in my life so much... A moment where you look back and contemplate and know that you're a different person now, that you've moved on and left bad things behind. Moments where you close your eyes and smile wide knowing things will go great and that the future looks clearer now, where you pause and thank life and the Universe for the good times. The connection I have with this song is very deep. It brings many good memories as well and it makes me feel very, very 1999.

How to forget that video? It's amazing and it fits the song very well. Unfortunately, people couldn't go beyond the fact that she was naked and completely missed the point but if you get it, it's great. For me, I also see it as presenting yourself to the world just like you are and somehow telling life, "This is me and now I am ready to face the world, as a more enlightened person". Great song for bad times!

How 'bout getting off of these antibiotics
How 'bout stopping eating when I'm full up
How 'bout them transparent dangling carrots
How 'bout that ever elusive kudo

Thank you India
Thank you terror
Thank you disillusionment
Thank you frailty
Thank you consequence
Thank you, thank you silence

How 'bout me not blaming you for everything
How 'bout me enjoying the moment for once
How 'bout how good it feels to finally forgive you
How 'bout grieving it all one at a time

Thank you India
Thank you terror
Thank you disillusionment
Thank you frailty
Thank you consequence
Thank you, thank you silence

The moment I let go of it was
The moment I got more than I could handle
The moment I jumped off of it was
The moment I touched down

How 'bout no longer being masochistic
How 'bout remembering your divinity
How 'bout unabashedly bawling your eyes out
How 'bout not equating death with stopping

Thank you India
Thank you Providence
Thank you disillusionment
Thank you nothingness
Thank you clarity
Thank you, thank you silence


Enter All is full of love by Bj�rk (from 1997's Homogenic). Although the album version is quite nice, I prefer the version that was used in the video and that later appeared on the Greatest hits album. I particularly love the instrumentation on this one, it's smooth and dreamy but it has beats that make my heart beat faster. This song makes me smile and feel relaxed and the lyrics speak about a big truth - love is there, all around, we just need to look around and we'll find it. Somehow, it's a challenge to the cynic in me and an invitation to expand your horizons and open up to life; not to forget how wonderful everything is and see and hear with the soul and the heart.

Now, the video for this song is one of the best ones in the history of popular music, IMHO. Directed by Chris Cunningham, I love how it fits the song very well and the story slowly unfolds to show us that love really is everywhere, even inside a cold, modern factory. Even though we may think that robots have no feelings, they fall in love while they are assembled with machines and milk. So beautiful!

You'll be given love
You'll be taken care of
You'll be given love
You have to trust it

Maybe not from the sources
you have poured yours
Maybe not from the directions
you are staring at

Trust your head around
It's all around you
All is full of love
All around you

All is full of love: You just ain't receiving
All is full of love: Your phone is off the hook
All is full of love: Your doors are all shut

All is full of love


As for the third song... Well... Um... It's a though call as there are many, many songs I love with a passion...

I could pick "The universal" by Blur, "Only you" by Portishead, "Alright" by Jamiroquai, "Say you'll be there" by Spice Girls, "Take your mama" by Scissor Sisters or maybe "Like a prayer" by Madonna, "Answering bell" by Ryan Adams, "Girlfriend" by *NSYNC, "Simple kind of life" by No Doubt, "Foolish games" by Jewel, "The dark of the matinee" by Franz Ferdinand; how about "Fake plastic trees (Acoustic)" by Radiohead, "Millenium" by Robbie Williams, "Waterfalls" by TLC, "Every you every me" by Placebo, "One headlight" by The Wallflowers or "Scar tissue" by Red Hot Chili Peppers, "Dry your eyes" by The Streets, "Colorblind" by Counting Crows, "Bootylicious" by Destiny's Child, "Impossible" by Christina Aguilera, "The new pollution" by Beck, "You get what you give" by New Radicals, "Play" by J.Lo; maybe even "Never there" by Cake, "Porcelain" by Moby, "Days go by (Acoustic)" by Dirty Vegas, "Don't be cruel" by Elvis Presley, "I belong to you" by Lenny Kravitz, "Trouble" by Coldplay, "Desafinado (Off key)" by Antonio Carlos Jobim featuring Stan Getz and Jo�o Gilberto, "The sweetest thing" by U2, "Slow" by Kylie Minogue or "Flowing" by 311, "Man! I feel like a woman" by Shania Twain, "Special" by Garbage, "Shadowboxer" by Fiona Apple, "Perfect" by Smashing Pumpkins, "Drive" by Incubus, "Karma" by Black Eyed Peas, "Good riddance (Time of your life)" by Green Day, "Fallin'" by Alicia Keys or even "The world is spinning at 45 RPM" by Pizzicato Five, "Last train out" by Nanang Tatang, "St. Pierre blues" by Les Pommes de ma Douche, "Mou sukoshi, mou sukoshi" by Atsumi Saori, "The widow" by The Mars Volta, "Itsumo nando demo" by Kimura Yumi or...

Ok, sorry mates, I really rilly really tried!

In the grand tradition of Loopyland, I feel obliged to make a quiz and then tag lots of people to make it too. Greetings from Mr. Taggypants!

Now, this quiz is courtesy of WarCryGirl and it goes exactly like this: Write 5 random facts about yourself, and then list the names of 5 people whom you in turn infect. There.

1. I can't parallel park even after all these years driving.
2. Whenever I download, um, buy a song, I must re-tag it with the appropriate spelling, use of capitals, correct formatting and all.
3. I love the stickers that come with the fruit and collect them in one of my notebooks. I enjoy sticking them on my forehead, too.
4. My first email address ever was a Yahoo one and the username was "josh_firestar".
5. Through my life I've lost two wallets full of my stuff and both times I wanted to die and no one gave them back. Wankers.

Who will I tag? Anyone who likes quizzes and hasn't done this but especially Dom, Eric, Heather, Becks and Jane.

Oh, and just because quizzes are fun and cheaper than any other addiction, I'll post my results for another one I recently did:

DisorderRating
Paranoid Personality Disorder:Low
Schizoid Personality Disorder:Low
Schizotypal Personality Disorder:Moderate
Antisocial Personality Disorder:Low
Borderline Personality Disorder:Moderate
Histrionic Personality Disorder:High
Narcissistic Personality Disorder:Moderate
Avoidant Personality Disorder:Moderate
Dependent Personality Disorder:Moderate
Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder:High

-- Take the Personality Disorder Test --
-- Personality Disorder Info --

Am I lovely or what? Nah, just a nutty bloke. LOL. Do it too and post your results! I'd love to see what you get.

Well, this entry has gotten too long, as usual. But am very glad I had the chance to post here at Loopy's. Since the first entry I read I became a big fan. Her wicked sense of humour is refreshing and her entries make me laugh and reflect. I especially love her letter entries and her massive rant. Loopy is unique and fab and I appreciate so much. It was fun writing here! Sorry it took so long for me to actually do it.

As for the rest of you, I hope you had at least a little fun reading this. Also, I want to wish you have some happy holidays! Whatever you celebrate, may it be Christmas, Yule, Hanukkah, Makar Sankranti, Saturnalia, Eid ul-Adha or nothing at all, I hope you have a great time and a fantastic New Year!

Hugs! =0)

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!