Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

11:12 p.m. - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Ramblin-Bill Goes Loopy
Hello. I'm Diaryland's ramblin-bill. You may recognize me from other notable guest entries, such as... Um... Well, since this is my first guest entry, I suppose you wouldn't recognize me from other guest entries.

Loopy, you're my first. I will always remember this moment.

A little about me, I live in Cincinnati and work as a Project Manager for a large corporation. When I was little I never thought I would grow up to be a businessman, but here I am.

My life outside of work consists of spending time with my family and friends and acting in regional theater. I have two lovely nieces and one nephew, and I adore all three of them.

I am single. I'm looking for someone "special," but so far every special education school that I've visited has told me that they would call the cops if I even thought about asking out one of the women there. Bastards.

I joke around about pretty much everything. My friends tell me there isn't a line that I won't cross. I guess that's true - I did just make a joke about asking out women with intellectual disabilities...

Sorry - I guess I've really digressed from the topic... Before I turn everyone off, I'll move on with it "Name your three favorite songs and describe a defining moment or memory associated with each of them."

I am going to going to take a little artistic license with the topic and change the word "songs" with "albums." Why? Because I am a frickin' rebel damn it. (Sure, a rebel who uses the word "frickin'," but a rebel nonetheless.)

Album number 1: Jagged Little Pill - Alanis Morrissette This CD was popular when I graduated from college. My first job out of college was working as a second shift supervisor in a Market Research phone center. Every night after work all of us would over to someone's house to play cards. We listened to this CD at least once a night. After while all of us knew every word to every song.

It also has one of the best breakup songs of all time - "You Oughta Know." She wrote this song when Dave Coulier (of TVs "Full House") broke up with her. Next time you listen to this song, picture "Uncle Joey" when you hear "Would she go down on you in a theater?" and "And are you thinking of me when you fuck her?" And for that, you are welcome.

Album number 2: Forever Blue - Chris Isaak Speaking of great breakup songs, this CD is full of them... I'd go as far as to say it is the best break up album of all time. I discovered this album about 6 years ago when I was on the road to marriage, but alas, things didn't quite work out as expected.

One of my favorite songs on this album is "I Believe" It's a very upbeat song about breaking up... The lyrics are great... Here's a few lines...

I believe in lovers walking side by side.
I believe that someday we'll be satisfied.
I believe the angels listen, God hears us pray.
And I believe in a beautiful day.

Yeah I believe it's gonna work out ok.
But not for me, and not for you.

I believe, I believe, I believe.

A positive break up song... What's up with that?

A side note... Hmm, two mentions of break up music in the same entry about music... I refuse to say anything more than I'm going through a phase where I think "Love Stinks." I'll break the theme and move onto something happier now.

Album number 3: A Wild And Crazy Guy - Steve Martin This isn't a 'song' album, but no other album had as much influence on me as I was growing up. In some ways, this album (along with my grandpa) taught me how to be funny.

Every summer my friends and I would listen to this album over and over and over again in their clubhouse. We memorized the words to all of the bits on the album - and would annoy our friends and families by reciting them pretty much non-stop...

A side note, another of Steve Martin's albums Let's Get Small starts with a track called "Ramblin' Man" that was the inspiration for my Diaryland name.)

So there you have it, three albums and the memories that go along with them. Loopy, thanks for the opportunity!

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!