Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

10:36 a.m. - 2004-08-09
Good Hair and Bad Driving
Good Hair and Bad Driving

A few months ago, I went to get my haircut at your basic upper-end mall hair salon. When I walked in, my hair was down to the middle of my back with a few long layers. When I walked out, it was shoulder length with lots of layers. This was unintentional, and it has to be the worst haircut I've had since the SuperCuts mistake. (Ear-length bozo hair, right before a job interview.) Since the recent bad haircut experience, my hair has not looked good once. Now that some of the original length has been recovered, it's in dire need of a trim, but I don't want to go back to The Butcher Shop.

I blame all of this on my old hairstylist. She was amazing. I never once received a bad haircut from her. But, she up and quit the salon where she was working, and I've never seen her again. Dana, where did you go? Did you know you were dooming me to a bad-hair future? And, of course, when I asked BFRB who cut her hair (which is just like mine), her stylist wasn�t taking new clients�.grrrr.

And while we're on the subject of things that piss me off, let's discuss tourists and why they suck. I live/work in or near downtown Oklahoma City�.where the bombing happened. I drive past the memorial every day on my way to and from work and to and from the gym. Every time, I am confronted with some moron in an SUV who either (a) is driving way too slow, (b) doesn�t know where they are going, so are prone to sudden unannounced lane changes and driving the wrong way down one-way streets, or (c) do not seem to understand stop signs or traffic signals. A tip: almost every gas station has a street map�.and downtown Oklahoma City is far from complex. There's really only about 4 north-south streets and 10 east-west ones. The one-ways alternate. If you are going the wrong way, turn right and turn right, and you will be going the correct direction. Just a suggestion, of course. Not like I'm trying to crush anyone's individuality.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not opposed to the memorial existing, nor do I feel anything but sympathy for those who were affected by the bombing. However, I do object to the tour buses, RV's, and cars who seem to be competing to see who can make me the latest for work or cause grievous harm to my person and/or vehicle. For example, this morning, one of those ugly station-wagon like SUV's with Minnesota plates executes a right turn (he had a stop sign, I did not) RIGHT IN FRONT OF MY CAR. I, of course, take this opportunity to show that I know where the horn is. Then, he basically STOPS in front of me�so in addition to a near-wreck, I am now stuck behind this fucking asshole. I pass him, and he just looks at me like I'm a psycho bitch.

A word to all you tourist types�during the week, you are in the middle of an area where people are at WORK. That means they need to get there, go to lunch, and run errands. I'm sure that when YOU are at work, and need to get places, you don't appreciate some moron running lights, parking an RV in the middle of the street, driving the wrong way, wandering in front of cars, and generally clogging up the works. Please park safely, obey traffic laws, and walk across the street when the sign says "WALK." These are all things I'm sure you do at home. You can see the memorial just fine in two minutes when the light changes. Additionally, use of hazard flashers to double-park and take pictures is a NO-NO.

I believe that's everything pissing me off this morning�but it's only 10:30, and it's Monday. I'm sure by the end of the day people will find new and interesting ways to annoy the shit out of me. Stay tuned.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!