Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

8:55 p.m. - 2004-10-13
If We Vote for Them, Will They Shut the Fuck UP???
If We Vote for Them, Will They Shut the Fuck UP???

The presidential debate is on. I was really into the first two. Now I'm just bored with them. Maybe it's just because neither one of the candidates are saying one thing that is new and interesting. And the sad part is, what they are talking about tonight (that being domestic issues) is the stuff that will really affect me personally.

Blah blah blah...seriously. I know I'm voting for Kerry. I think he's full of shit, but they're all full of shit. At least he's giving lip service to things like abortion rights and equal pay. Bush is blethering on about education. Which is ironic. His standardized testing crap is frustrating the hell out of teachers. And are teachers making enough money to put up with a bunch of whiny brats and their parents? No. My mom is a teacher. She loves working with kids, and hates the administrative crap.

Kerry's usually so well-spoken, but I think he just said "gunnoo." That's approaching "nukular" on my annoy-o-meter. Not quite. But Johnny boy, you need to be sticking with the intelligent and rational approach. Don't start sounding like that moronic redneck.

But they are yelling at each other. That's fun. Gotta love the drama.

I really should be paying more attention to this. I should also be reading the book for my book club meeting tomorrow. I just can't make myself do it. Am I turning into a complete junk-food reader? What I'm supposed to be reading is 100 Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. What I want to be reading is the new Patricia Cornwell book. What I actually AM reading is Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban for the I-don't-know-how-many-th time. Fuck it.

This is why I don't know if I'm mature enough to go to graduate school. Give me an assignment that does not offer a monetary reward, and I don't want to do it. I probably would like that book if I'd actually read it...but the fact that I have to makes me not want to.

BFRB and I actually went to the gym tonight. The Y is having this 8-week total body challenge thing, and we're going to do it. We've been stunningly unmotivated lately...her about going, me about eating as well as I should be. We decided that we need some external motivation...that is, someone will be checking on our progress. And it's a contest, too. Pathetic though this may be, I am a competitive little freak. BFRB has those tendencies, too. The participants are in teams of four people. We were all scoping out the gym for people to be on our team. We finally asked a chick we see there all the time who seems cool, and she agreed...she also has a BFRB who wants to play, so we'll be kicking some ass. Word.

However, the Y was not all sunshine and flowers and rainbows tonight. First off, my ass hurts in a serious way. It's that fucking cardio machine from yesterday. I don't ever do that one, but it was crowded, and that was the only available option. I've spent all day in pain, despite the handful of anti-inflammatory pain relievers. And tonight was lower-body weights night. So now my ass and legs REALLY hurt. Secondly, I managed to pinch my little finger between two slidy weights, and now I have a blood blister. It's ugly. And I can't decide whether popping it would make it hurt less or would just be painful and gross.

Aren't you glad you read this far?

It could be worse. I could be talking about personal itching. Or something. I was surfing the members directory and found this dude talking about his bowel problems. I'm not linking it. I was too lazy to bookmark it, and I don't want to be encouraging that nastiness. Sometimes defecation can be an amusing topic. But it's all in the presentation.

If these two assholes don't quit talking about how Jesus loves them and that's why they'd make a good president, I swear I'm going to move to Canada.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!