Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

8:23 p.m. - 2004-12-26
Delayed Flights and Wishing for \"The Forbidden Fruit\"
*NOTE* Seeing as how I haven't had the time/privacy to update, I'm going to present the Christmas saga in stages. This would be Part 1: The Journey.

Dear sweet bleeding Jesus, what a freaking nightmare....

So I get to the airport, right? And I am promptly informed by the check-in desk that my flight has been delayed from 6:30 pm to 11:21 pm. I call my mom and let her know I won't be arriving till approximately 1 a.m.

As I am scanning for the nonexistent smoking lounge, I run into SW, a girl who used to work across the hall from me. In an odd twist of fate, she too is going to Houston, with her husband, his brother, and their grandma, and they were supposed to be on the same flight. After some idle chitchat, I decide to go in search of food & tell her I'll catch up with her in a while.

Then, they move a bunch of us onto a 7:45 flight to Dallas, and a connecting flight to Houston. Of course, in the back of my mind, I'm thinking that if I had WANTED to be on THAT fucking flight, I would have booked it in the first place, but at least it will get to Houston at 10:15 instead of 12:41. I end up sitting with SW & co. on the plane, but only out of sheer necessity. It's not that I don't like her, but I don't know her that well, and we've run out of mutual-acquaintance chatter.

(As an aside, I will add that this is one of the few times I've ever wished for a cell phone. I had to purchase some AT&T calling card to call my mother, and I received approximately 20 minutes of talk time for $10. Plus, I really wanted to call BFRB and share my story as it unfolded. Since I couldn't, most of this installment is cut & pasted from the e-mail I sent her when I finally arrived.)

Arrive in Dallas. Discover that the Dallas connecting flight has (surprise) ALSO been delayed. So they move me to YET ANOTHER flight, which will coincide with the ETA I gave my mom in the update phone call. (As an aside, this is the ONLY time in recent memory I have wished for a cell phone. I bought a low-dollar AT & T prepaid calling card, and I really wanted to call you and whine through all of this, but I was afraid I'd use the minutes and then have to buy another stupid one to call my mom if I needed to.)

Fortunately, my luggage arrives when I do.

On the flight to Houston, I see this chick I was friends with in elementary school...she was a dork, and I was kind of mean to her. Well, she's still a dork, but she's also a cardiologist. Love the feeling of underachievement. Just what I needed to add to my Christmas joy.

My mom came to the airport by herself. She's already about to slap the shit out of my gramma. And she's pissed at my stepfather.

I just LOVE holidays.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!