Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

9:59 a.m. - 2005-02-25
Musical Madness
Today's entry focuses on music...with a survey and a list. The survey was swiped from bohemianlife, and the list from weymouth66.

First, the list. SOMEONE made up a list of what they considered the "Fifty Worst Songs Ever." Personally, I think some are included that don't need to be, and there are a lot of exemptions, i.e., everything Britney Spears, Mariah Carey, and any boy band have ever performed. What you do is underline the ones you actually like....

1. We Built This City ... Starship
2. Achy Breaky Heart ... Billy Ray Cyrus
3. Everybody Have Fun Tonight ... Wang Chung
4. Rollin' ... Limp Bizkit
5. Ice Ice Baby ... Vanilla Ice
6. The Heart of Rock & Roll ... Huey Lewis and the News
7. Don't Worry, Be Happy ... Bobby McFerrin
8. Party All the Time ... Eddie Murphy
9. American Life ... Madonna
10. Ebony and Ivory ... Paul McCartney and Stevie Wonder
11. Invisible ... Clay Aiken
12. Kokomo ... The Beach Boys
13. Illegal Alien -Genesis
14. From a Distance ... Bette Midler
15. I'll Be There for You ... The Rembrandts
16. What's Up? ... 4 Non Blondes
17. Pumps and a Bump ... Hammer
18. You're the Inspiration ... Chicago
19. Broken Wings ... Mr. Mister
20. Dancing on the Ceiling ... Lionel Richie
21. Two Princes ... Spin Doctors
22. Courtesy of the Red, White and Blue (The Angry American) ... Toby Keith
23. Sunglasses at Night ... Corey Hart
24. Superman ... Five for Fighting
25. I'll Be Missing You ... Puff Daddy featuring Faith Evans and 112
26. The End ... The Doors
27. The Final Countdown ... Europe
28. Your Body Is a Wonderland ... John Mayer
29. Breakfast at Tiffany's ... Deep Blue Something
30. Greatest Love of All ... Whitney Houston
31. Mmm Mmm Mmm Mmm ... Crash Test Dummies
32. Will 2K ... Will Smith
33. Barbie Girl ... Aqua
34. Longer ... Dan Fogelberg
35. Shiny Happy People ... R.E.M.
36. Make Em Say Uhh! ... Master P featuring Silkk, Fiend, Mia-X and Mystikal
37. Rico Suave ... Gerardo
38. Cotton Eyed Joe ... Rednex
39. She Bangs ... Ricky Martin
40. I Wanna Sex You Up ... Color Me Badd
41. We Didn't Start the Fire ... Billy Joel
42.The Sounds of Silence ... Simon & Garfunkel
43. Follow Me ... Uncle Kracker
44. I'll Do Anything for Love (But I Won't Do That) ... Meat Loaf
45. Mesmerize ... Ja Rule featuring Ashanti
46. Hangin' Tough ... New Kids on the Block
47. The Only Thing That Looks Good on Me Is You ... Bryan Adams
48. Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da ... The Beatles
49. I'm Too Sexy ... Right Said Fred 50. My Heart Will Go On ... Celine Dion

After you're all done completely making fun of me, here's the "Ultimate Music Survey":

A song whose lyrics you thought you knew in the past, but about which you later learned you were incorrect.

Every single song Elton John has ever sung. All of them. Most memorably, "Don't Let the Sun Go Down on Me." What's funny is I liked it more before I understood the lyrics.

Your least favorite song on one of your favorite albums of all time.

I would have to say "Everybody Hurts" on REM's Automatic for the People album. The album is brilliant...except for that whiny, overplayed, complete slice-of-goat-ass song.

A song you like by someone you find physically unattractive or otherwise repellent.

Hmm...would have to say "Head Like A Hole" from Nine Inch Nails. Trent Reznor is creepy.

Your favorite song with the name of a city in the title or text.

Okay, I'm going to be a dork here. But it's NOT MY FAULT. My parents listened to this stuff when I was young and impressionable, and now I can't help but like it...George Strait, "Amarillo by Morning".

Amarillo by morning
Up from San Antone
Everything that I got
Is just what I got on....
I ain't got a dime
But what I got is mine
I ain't rich, but lord, I'm free...
Amarillo by morning,
Amarillo's where I'll be.

A song you've listened to repeatedly when you were depressed at some point in your life.

Well, seeing as how I was depressed for a very large chunk of my life, I'm going to do a top ten:

(1) Tori Amos - "Tear in Your Hand"

Caught a ride with the moon
I know, I know you well, well better than I used to...
So you say and I say you know you're full of wish
But baby baby baby I tell you there are pieces of me you've never seen...

(2) The Beatles - "Blackbird"

Blackbird singing in the dead of night
Take these broken wings and learn to fly
All your life
You were only waiting for this moment to arise.

(3) Tracy Chapman - "At this Point in My Life"

I'm climbing stairs
But mostly tumbling down
I'm reaching high
Always losing ground
You see, I've conquered hills
But I still have mountains to climb
But right now, right now
I'm doing the best I can
At this point in my life.

(4) Luna - "Moon Palace"

Seventeen dreams for you
They'll all be gone tomorrow....
Well we're traveling light
Gonna speed through the night
Only now you'll recall
It means nothing at all
You were stuck in a dream
And you wanted to scream
But it's nothing at all
No it's nothing...

(5) REM - "Find the River"

Where people drown and people serve
Don't be shy your just deserve
Is only just light-years to go...
River to the ocean goes
A fortune for the undertow
I have got to leave to find my way
Leave the road and memorize
This life that passed before your eyes...
Nothing is going my way.

(6) Indigo Girls - "Love's Recovery"

During the time of which I speak
It was hard to turn the other cheek
To the blows of insecurity

(7) Theme from "Somewhere in Time" (this would be an instrumental)

(8) Tracy Bonham - "Mother Mother"

When you sent me off to see the world
Were you scared that I might get hurt
Would I try a little "tobacco"
Would I keep on hiking up my skirt?
I'm hungry
I'm dirty
I'm losing my mind
Everything's FINE

(9) Natalie Imbruglia - "Torn"

I don't care
I have no luck
I don't miss it all that much
There's just so many things
That I can't touch � I'm torn
I'm all out of faith
This is how I feel
I'm cold and I am shamed
Lying naked on the floor
Illusion never changed
Into something real
I'm wide awake and I can see the perfect sky
Is torn....

(10) Counting Crows - "Round Here"

Round here
We always stand up straight
Round here
Something radiates
Round here we talk just like lions
But we sacrifice like lambs
Round here...she's slipping through my hands
Round here
We're never sent to bed early
And nobody makes us wait
Round here we stay up
Very very very very late

Ever buy an entire album just for one song and wind up disliking everything but that song? Gimme that song.
When in Rome - "The Promise"

Your favorite song that has expletives in it that's not by Liz Phair.

Really, I hate these surveys. It's all about "just pick one." I am not capable of that, for real. So here are a few.

Nine Inch Nails - "The Only Time"

Lay my hands on heaven and the sun and the moon and the stars
While the devil wants to fuck me in the back of his car...

Offspring - "Bad Habit"

Sometimes I feel like I'm God
You stupid dumb shit goddamn motherfucker!!!

Ben Folds Five - "Army"


Well I thought about the army
Dad said "Son, you're fucking high"

A song that sounds as if it's by someone British but isn't.
FUUUUUCK, I don't know. I have a hard enough time keeping track of titles and artists without remembering their countries of origin, too.

A song you like (possibly from your past) that took you forever to finally locate a copy of.

Patti Austin - "The Girl Who Used to Be Me". I heard this on the Oscars one year (it was in the movie Shirley Valentine) and loved it, and it took me five or six more years to find it. Then, my computer got a virus and died, and I lost it. And I haven't been able to find it again.

A song that reminds you of spring but doesn't mention spring at all.

Spin Doctors - "Two Princes"

A song that sounds to you like being happy feels.

Roger Miller - "King of the Road"

Your favorite song from a non-soundtrack compilation album.

Sheryl Crow's cover of "D'yer Maker" on the Encomium: A Tribute to Led Zeppelin album.

A song from your past that would be considered politically incorrect now (and possibly was then).

I'm going to have to go with "Baby Got Back" also on this one.

A song sung by an overweight person.

Kate Smith - "I'll Be Seeing You." This is an old one. Also, I gotta give some props here to Queen Latifah's Rendition of "When You're Good to Mama" from the Chicago soundtrack.

A song you actually like by an artist you otherwise hate.

BFRB's probably gonna kill me for this, but "Grey Street" by Dave Matthews. It's not really him, it's someone in his band that annoys the crap out of me. I'm trying to like it, really I am, because we're going to see him at the Roo, and BFRB isn't going to shut up about it until then...or afterward.....hehehe. But it has the most awesome lyrics...

She feels like kicking out the windows
And setting fire to this life..

A song by a band (whose members actually play instruments) that features three or more female members.

Lush - "Lovelife"...but only because there are only TWO members of the Indigo Girls.

One of the earliest songs that you can remember listening to.

I have very clear memories of listening to BJ Thomas - "Raindrops Keep Falling on My Head" as a very small child. In fact, I listened to it so much, I broke the tape. And then I cried a lot. The other one I remember is "The Battle of New Orleans", but I have no idea who the actual artist is...I just remember my dad singing it OVER and OVER. Like, I think I still know most of the words...

In 1814 we took a little trip
Along with Col. Jackson down the mighty Mississipp
We took a little bacon and we took a little beans
And we went to fight the British in a town called New Orleans...
Well, we fired our guns and the British kept a comin'
Wasn't nar as many as there was a while ago
We fired once more and they began to runnin'
Down the Mississippi to the Gulf of Mexico...

A song you've been mocked by friends for liking.

My friends all mock my taste in music regularly. I am immune.

A really good cover version you think no one else has heard.

The Butchies' cover of that 80's song "Your Love"...

Josie's on a vacation far away
Come around and talk it over
So many things that I wanna say
You know I like my girls a little bit older
I just wanna use your love tonight...

A song that has helped cheer you up (or empowered you somehow) after a breakup or otherwise difficult situation.

Madonna - "Human Nature"

Did I say something wrong?
Oops
I didn't know I couldn't speak my mind
(What was I thinking?)
Did I stay too long?
Oops
I didn't know I couldn't talk about you
(I must have been crazy)
But I'm not sorry
I'm not your bitch, don't hang your shit on me

What was the last song you downloaded?

Kelly Clarkson - "Since You've Been Gone"

An album you love that is flawless from start to finish (in other words no song skipping necessary)?

Indigo Girls - their debut album.

The song that made you get the album in that first place?

"History of Us", I guess.

Give me the song title which you think best describes who you actually are. Explain.

Hmmm. How about "The Girl With the Weight of the World in Her Hands" (Indigo Girls)...because I always feel like everything is so monumental.

Now give me the song title which you think best describes your personality. Explain.

Probably the song "You Can Always Count on Me" from the musical City of Angels. And the lyrics fit too....

If you need a gal to go without sal'ry and work too hard
You can always count on me
The kind of a pal who'd sneak you a file past the prison guard
Loyal to the nth degree...

Quick � your favorite clever song lyric!

From The Bloodhound Gang - "The Roof is on Fire"

I'm not black like Barry White is
But I'm white like Frank Black is

A romantic song that is NOT cheesy & your favorite lyric from that song.

Romantic songs are, by definition, cheesy. However, I'll have to go with Tracy Chapman - "The Promise."

Remembering
Your touch, your kiss, your warm embrace
I'll find my way back to you
Please say you'll be waiting...
And say you'll hold a place for me in your heart.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!