Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

10:58 a.m. - 2005-02-19
Loopy's Bookshelf

Here's where I dork out about books.

I read a lot. I read even more now that I am unemployed. This list probably doesn't include everything I've read since Christmas, but it will do...for now. Please feel free to recommend books...I always need something to read!

What I've Read:

The Lovely Bones - Alice Sebold

Okay, this is one of those Oprah-type books, and one that the critics raved about. For a change, they were right. It's a creative idea and written in a simple, conversational style...which helps to prove that "literary" does not mean "showing off all the big words I think I know."

The Cabinet of Curiosities - Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child

Junk food reading at its finest. These are the guys that wrote The Relic, and they are great at creating suspense and colorful characters. This book featured Agent Pendergast, who is a continuing player in their books.

The Cat Who Smelled a Rat - Lilian Jackson Braun

This series is my guilty little pleasure. These books are kind of dorky, but I like them anyway. Also, if you have kids (which I don't, but whatever), these books are really tame. Sexual references are very oblique, and the strongest swear word is "damn" or maybe "ass."

The Cat Who Saw Stars - Lilian Jackson Braun

Another installment in the "Loopy's Guilty Pleasure that She Can't Believe She's Actually Admitting in Public" series.

Dude, Where's My Country? - Michael Moore

The precursor to Fahrenheit 9/11. If you've seen the movie, the book won't contain any real surprises. However, it was still an interesting read. I'm sure some of my Republican readers will have lots to say about how Michael Moore is an idiot...probably about the same amount to say as I would about, say, Rush Limbaugh or Bill O'Reilly.

MikWright-Family Style - MikWright, Ltd.

This was a gift from GEB, who worked at a bookstore and liked to use Ye Olde Employee Discount. These are the people who make those cards with the photographs and rude captions...i.e., a picture of a group of women with a caption along the lines of "Now girls, let's not be rude to Charlene, even though we all know she gets more ass than a toilet seat." A fun coffee-table book.

Five Days in Summer - Kate Pepper

Another mass-market paperback...very suspenseful mystery. I borrowed this from a friend at work, started reading it on a smoke break, and had a VERY HARD TIME putting it down for the rest of the day.

Food and Loathing: A Lament - Betsy Lerner

I could have written this book. Anyone who has issues with food and dieting should read it. It's not whiny...just very honest and blunt. Funny, too, sometimes. It was a gift from BFRB, who located on the bargain table at Barnes & Noble.

The Green Mile - Stephen King

This is a re-read. I do that a lot, because I can't afford to support my book habit in the style it deserves. I read this in the original serial installments when it first came out. I picked it up again at GID's house...he was working out, or taking a shower, or something. I had sort of forgotten that I liked this book.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix - J. K. Rowling

Another re-read. I've read this series many times. I'm trying to make sure I don't miss anything, so that when the next one comes out (JULY 16TH!!) I will catch everything. Rowling is a master of foreshadowing and dropping hints about people in previous books.

Q is for Quarry - Sue Grafton

I like this series. I like most series with continuing characters. They're just so comforting... This book was inspired by an actual unsolved case, and the end had an artist's rendering of what the actual murder victim looked like, in hopes that someone might be able to identify her.

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants - Ann Brashares

This is another one of those books that everyone was all raving about, so of course, my contrary ass didn't read it for a while. However, it did live up to the hype. An interesting look at the lives of four teenage friends spending their first summer out of each others' company. There's a sequel, and I'm sure I'll be reading it. That continuing character thing, ya know.

A Series of Unfortunate Events: The Bad Beginning - Lemony Snicket

Kids' books are another one of my guilty little pleasures. These have more than a touch of sarcasm. I'll probably end up buying the rest of these little fuckers, too.

Lost Boy Lost Girl - Peter Straub

I've liked his books for a long time, but some of them are easier to get into than others. This was a good one. It also features (surprise, surprise) a continuing character.


The Sweet Potato Queens' Book of Love - Jill Conner Browne

This was fucking hilarious. I mean, laugh out loud funny. The only downside was the talk of therapeutic eating, featuring a recipe for something called "Chocolate Stuff" which sounds like I need to never even try making it. Not that I cook. But that might tempt me.


C is for Corpse - Sue Grafton

Another in the series...I've read most of the more recent ones, and I read the first two, so I decided to read number 3, because, well, they had it at the used bookstore.


False Prophet - Faye Kellerman

Surprise...it's another mystery series with continuing characters. Her books are always thought provoking, and the characters' interactions are very real. She doesn't sugarcoat things, her main character can be a real asshole, but you're sucked in just the same.


Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire - J. K. Rowling

What can I say...I'm re-reading them in reverse order.

The Second Summer of the Sisterhood - Ann Brashares

The second installment wasn't quite as good as the first...it sort of seemed like some of the characters weren't as clearly defined. However, it drew me in enough to want to read the next one, but not in hardback.

The Door to December - Dean Koontz

It was okay, I guess. Sort of an interesting concept. But Tom Clancy's use of the sensory deprivation chamber in The Cardinal of the Kremlin was more effective and plausible.

D is for Deadbeat - Sue Grafton

Another in the series...one of the earlier ones that I hadn't read.

E is for Evidence - Sue Grafton

I hadn't read this one, either.

God Save the Sweet Potato Queens - Jill Conner Browne

The just-as-funny sequel to the original. I laughed my ass off.

Nightmares & Dreamscapes - Stephen King

A short story collection. I had read this a long time ago, but I had forgotten how good some of the stories were...particularly "Umney's Last Case" and "Head Down," a nonfiction piece regarding Little League baseball.

R is for Richochet - Sue Grafton

Obviously, I'm on a kick. Back to the end...and I didn't even have to wait for the paperback, because my mom didn't, and I borrowed it.

Sole Survivor - Dean Koontz

Better than some of his books, not as good as others. The plot kept me entertained...even though I made the mistake of reading this on the plane. (It's about a plane crash.)

The Abs Diet Eat Right Every Time Guide - David Zinczenko

I'm not much of one for trendy diet books, but this guy actually seems to be promoting something workable and healthy. Plus, he's a big fan of (a) the microwave and (b) frozen dinners.

The Secret Garden - Frances Hodgson Burnett

A classic kids' book, but I love the story, and sometimes it's very comforting to read an old favorite.

The Scarlett Pimpernel - Baroness Orczy

Another classic old favorite...very suspenseful and entertaining.

What I'm Reading Next:

Inappropriate Men - Stacey Ballis

Villa Incognito - Tom Robbins

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!